What’s a secret skill or ability you have or wish you had?

I guess my most secret ability is to put two and two together and complete a picture 😀.

Sounds gibberish ?

Actually it’s not.

It’s a revelation of my deducing power or ability, friends.

For example, if I receive a sketchy information about somebody or some incident which is not sufficient to come to a conclusion or which just gives a mere glimpse into some situation but not brings forth the whole picture I can make out the complete story by connecting  some other bits and pieces of information droppings which I have heard or picked up earlier or which I can gather later.

I employed this tactic in my work area and I play this little game  in my personal life as well. Needless to say, till I get the full picture I am not at rest. Sometimes, my snooping antennae are up just  to prove  a personal hunch about someone or something. A quiz that I play quietly to my own inner satisfaction. Usually, these hunches do come true !!!

My family thinks I am over imaginative, not to say, over inquisitive. But imagination is necessary. Humans only have that capability left – the power of imagination! The world sustains itself on human imagination. If you are able to foresee a problem it’s your imagination at play. If you are bent on resolving a problem it’s imagination put to use. If you are on the path of discovery what tool will assist you but imagination. It is said that inventions are born out of human necessity. But I will twist the phrase to inventions are a biproduct of human imagination.

Even in algebra, in the beginning of a theorem you make an assumption. Don’t you ? If you extend the definition of assumption a bit  somewhere you will find imagination coming into play. So, it  is essential for imagination to be the soulmate of detection too.

If you are seeking the truth, be it of any kind, imagination has to take a front seat.

You may call me a snoopy, old maid having nothing else to do but to be nosy. However, if you perform the act with immeasurable subtlety, it becomes an art. The art of enquiry.

To this profound expertise you add the garnishing of astute observation and voila! You have got a stupefying conjugation of Ms. Marple, Mr Poirot , Holmes and the rest of the truth seekers of the world put together!!!!

Yes, I am also super sensitive to body language and implicit or explicit gestures – a rise of an eyebrow, a turn of the corner of the mouth, a split second look, a cocking of the ears, a deliberate pursing of lips and, if I may add, wagging of the tail!!! All those seemingly simple, wordless , harmless stances which unspeakably add to verbosity !!!

In short, I love to be the self appointed investigator for my own secret pleasures. Hence, I have honed all those skills required for it.

Yes, it can be dangerous because you don’t want to land up being the (wo)man who knew too much.

Till such time the enactment is on the quiet and without anybody getting a hint of it, it’s pleasurable. Once it’s like stepping on someone else’s tail it can be messy.

So mum is the word. I mean mum is the word.

You know…

The Hide(ous) Snooper
The Artefacts

About gc1963

A working woman with interests in reading, writing, music, poetry and fine arts.

9 responses »

  1. Body language is so important

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Yes
    Mum is the word
    Dear Sherlock Holmes ….
    ♥️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Klausbernd says:

    Body language, the eyes and especially facial expression give away quite a bit.
    Keep wellThe Fab Four of Cley🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joyful2bee says:

    You may be intuitive or empathic. I enjoy observing people while waiting for someone else. Deducing what kind of person they are by their facial expressions, clothing, mannerisms and just the feeling I may get from them. It is fun.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. AA1C says:

    Nice post.I subscribed. Have a good day🍀☘️⭐️💝😸

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment