She was married off

Before attaining puberty
At sixteen she flaunted a baby bump
At twenty she was mother of two
In between got aborted twice
In some sleazy clinic
                          alley side

That year…

When “Nirbhaya” uproar
                           was at its peak
She laughed quietly, and one day
                                    said to me
I get  raped  night after night
No one is going to burn a candle for me right?
Who is going to protest against that ?

An afterthought….

Perhaps one day they will make a film on me
And immortalize my agony frame by frame

Then after second thought…..

Who is she? where is she from?
After all a name is just a name
Be it rose…………………….be it shame

About gc1963

A working woman with interests in reading, writing, music, poetry and fine arts.

8 responses »

  1. aparna12 says:

    Excellent lines. Very well said. That’s what we are suffering from. Misogynistic men who treat women as their properties rather than with respect or compassion. What a beautiful poem! Loved it so much❤❤❤❤❤.

    Like

    • gc1963 says:

      Thanks Aparna.

      Though I have a separate poetry blog at https://mindspeak-vanderloost.blogspot.com. I realized I have not posted any poem in my blog on WordPress. So, I think this is one of the very few ones.

      Thanks for liking it once again.

      I think marital rape is a very important issue which we, as a society, do not want to address. Its kind of a taboo. Raped by husband is taken as part of physical relationship sanctioned by marriage and the woman’s “no” is not taken into consideration or considered to be violation of the marriage pact though unwritten.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Rupali says:

    Simple yet powerful poem.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment