Human beings are full of contradictions and unpredictable. Therefore, laws governing Society cannot be perfected with certainty .

Human beings are social animals too. They are gregarious by nature. They live in groups. Initially they bunched together in tribes. Tribes occupying a specified territory perpetuated a string of norms and mores which laid the foundation of respective cultures. Civilizations came into existence along with cultural intermingling. And somewhere we lost our originality but perhaps not our primitiveness.

At the same time, humans are selfish, self loving and self centered. All these traits became more prominent with familial bonding.

This preface is to two different incidents.

Incident 1

The other day in the Metro I got a seat which was a rare boon.

I have medical issues and commuting the one and a half hour journey standing is a simple no-no.

A few other passengers boarded who needed seats as much as I did.

I did not want to vacate mine.

I prayed.

Felt guilty.

Decided given my age I had a right to it.

Others offered them theirs.

Issue resolved.

Relieved I dozed off.

Incident 2

Platform lift was almost full.

An old man relying on a stick walked slowly towards it.

A middle aged lady extended her arm to stop the lift from shutting.

The old man took his time to reach the lift.

Everyone waited patiently for him.

On entering, leaving his stick aside he folded his hands and bowed to the lady who had stopped the lift for him.

A silent gesture of genuine thankfulness.

Prologue

Incident 2 humbled me and also made me feel guiltier.

Not because I did not give away my seat to someone who required it more.

But because I had those wicked thoughts which pointed a castigating finger towards me.

We are sinners in our own way.

We pay the price knowingly or unknowingly.

Let’s acknowledge it with honesty.

Just that.

Pic from Google

About gc1963

A working woman with interests in reading, writing, music, poetry and fine arts.

11 responses »

  1. A humbling post Geeta

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Belladonna says:

    Geeta. I hate that feeling of should I get up, but on the other hand I’m so tired and my back may be hurting.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You’re right, we’re all selfish and sinners, but you needed to sit still. Please don’t feel guilty

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You said it. By not acknowledging this truth, we will be deceiving none else but ourselves only.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Rupali says:

    I hear you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment