phobias

From Google

Ahoy! I am back. While going through my blog I realize that I have been absenting quite a lot and therefore want to make up for the lack of posts in between.

At times, it may be difficult to find interesting topics to write on and at others, you are bubbling with ideas to put forth in black and white. During those dreary stretches of disappearance from blogosphere, I often wondered whether the ink in my quill had dried up untimely. The thought made me feel empty. And sometimes gave me the jitters.

It is at this bleak point in life of diffidence and doubt that I chanced upon this loooong scroll of uncommon words at the back of an ordinary Register. Just imagine! A delightful find indeed, more so, because these were inscribed where they were least expected to be and that upped my spirits no less. Now, here there was a treasure trove worth sharing. For the scholarly, these may not be serendipitous revelations but for me they were an enchanting and valuable addition to my vocabulary.

So, my friends here they are. Let me know how many of these were already known to you and how many expanded your lingual horizon:

S.

Word

Meaning
1. Globophobia Fear of balloons popping
2. Ombrophobia Fear of rains
3. Geniophobia Fear of chins
4. Tetraphobia Fear of number 4
5. Tryophobia Fear of holes
6. Pogonophobia Fear of beards
7. Hippopotomonstrosesquipedaliophobia Fear of long words
8. Lipophobia Fear of fats in food
9. Genuphobia Fear of knees and /or kneeling
10. Sanguivoriphobia Fear of vampires
11. Ergophobia Fear of work
12. Emetophobia Fear of vomiting
13. Triskaidekaphobia Fear of number 13
14. Arachibutyrophonia Fear of peanut butter sticking to the roof of your month
15. Nomophobia Fear of being out of mobile phone contact
16. Ancraophobia Fear of wind
17. Ephebiphobia Fear of youth
18. Xanthophobia Fear of the colour yellow
19. Myrmecopobia Fear of ants
20. Turaphobia Fear of cheese
21. Anthophobia Fear of flowers
22. Hylophobia Fear of trees/forests
23. Omphalophobia Fear of belly buttons
24. Scriptophobia Fear of writing in public
25. Pentheraphobia Fear of your mother-in-law

To think of what all humans are fearful of!! But I guess the most relevant are the ones at Sl. No. 15 and 25. Trust me to come across and be intrigued by all sorts of phobias and fears. My young colleague thought I was endowed with, what she called, a khurafaati dimaag. Now, that’s quite a non-translatable phrase! The closest will be weird brain?  I am not sure. So let’s drop that.

Coming to phobias…Google aunty defines it as an extreme or irrational fear of or aversion to something. While overpowering dread can take a turn towards insanity, short lived fears can be situational, conditional and may be considered normal. For example, if you are nauseous you may suffer from emetophobia. I do whenever I have to travel to the hills.

Triskaidekaphobia is quite common as the number 13 is considered ominous and harbinger of ill-luck. I think ergophobia is our national trait.

When I was young, I remember I used to feel vulnerable of my youngness now whether that is tantamount to ephebephobia is a call that a shrink needs to take.

Sanguiphoriphobia? Now who would love to have vampires around?

While I won’t rule out a tinge of madness in meself I’d be no less happy to know what of the above phobias you think you are suffering from or trying to fight with.

Lemme know…..even in whispers will do!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So long……………..sleep tight!!

About gc1963

A working woman with interests in reading, writing, music, poetry and fine arts.

24 responses »

  1. Alok Singhal says:

    I can identify myself with Ergophobia…who doesn’t? I’ve never heard of any other.

    Nice compilation and your funny additions add more to them. Welcome back 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gosh! Resurgence with a list of tongue twisting words. 😉 Btw this is the first time I saw anybody referring Google as aunty.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bikramjit says:

    Wowow such big huge words.. many of them I have read for the first time in my life. .

    Is there a phobia for that toooo…. then I defintely am that one. .😀

    And welcome back. .

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Vimala Ramu says:

    Capital,Geetha! Your blog this time is ingenious! Congrats !!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ergophobia!!… I think I have it…! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Amit Agarwal says:

    Oh wow! Interesting (?) phobias indeed 🙂 Loved the one at 7 🙂

    Like

  7. Thank you for your visit and I could see photos of my three posts on your side bar. I am almost mistaken that this is my blog. If you like all of my posts, it may really look like this is my blog. All the phobias are interesting. #7 – you are saying the Thai people are fear of their names because a lot of name are more than 26 letters. #13 – many hotels in Hong Kong skip floor 4 because the tone of 4 is the same tone of dead. Interesting indeed. You don’t seem like just woke up from sleep and come back blogging. Your mind is spinning fast already. Will be back to visit. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I read your intro again. I could say almost the same except “working” because I am retired, other than that, yes I like reading, writing, music and art. You’ll find them in my blog, because they are part of me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

