I once wrote about how I wished to sketch, draw, paint but my hands were too shaky with the pencil and every line, stroke and shade that I intended to bring out on paper came to naught. However, recently I have had this great urge to be creative and decided not to let my handicaps and shortcomings come my way. So, what I did was to surf the net (Pinterest mostly), select sketches, copy them , take print and carbon them out in my sketch book and colour them to my heart’s content. Result is something like this:

THE GIRL

The interesting thing is that I tried to colour the copied sketch in my PC with the paint brush and it came out like this:

THE GIRL 2

A word of caution. One has to have very steady fingers in order to paint on-screen. Control over the mouse is most important otherwise the colours may run out of boundaries. It is also difficult to maintain the fine edges with this one. Chances of spill over are most. Perfect fingers, right amount of pressure, accurate sense of direction of maneuvering are required to make/paint an error free picture on the computer. But for a first timer, with all its flaws and failures, I think the try was not so bad.

And here is the original sketch from Pinterest:

THE CUTE GIRL

In writing when one copies it is known as plagiarism. I do not quite remember the exact word for copying an art work. It is not a done thing, of course not! And I am guilty of the crime. But all said and done, the fact that stares at me right through all these trials of the art type, failed or otherwise,  is that a copied/plagiarized product cannot compete or match with the original. There always remains a dissimilarity, an inconsonance, a difference, minor or glaring, between the two. And the original will always be the original with all its beauty, subtlety and fragrance and a copy ( a carbon one at that) will always remain dissatisfactory and quite not up to the mark.

Then, will I not commit the crime again ?

You bet! I will, a hundred times and more……………with due respect to the original creator!!!

About gc1963

A working woman with interests in reading, writing, music, poetry and fine arts.

15 responses »

  1. The sketch has come up well. I used to do this in my childhood. My uncle would sketch and I would copy his sketches. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am overwhelmed by your effort Geeta Ji. Both the B&W and the colour sketches have created an undefinable impact somewhere deep inside my heart. Hearty compliments. I have nothing further to write in this regard.

    Jitendra Mathur

    Liked by 1 person

    • gc1963 says:

      I hope Mathur Sahab you realize I have copied from the original (B&W one). So I am not the one who should be given the credit of anything at all.

      Like

  3. Amit Agarwal says:

    Great art Geetashree 🙂 I tried it too but never succeeded even though I studied painting at UG level:) And no it is not plagiarism at all since you have given credit to the source:)
    Looking forward to see more..

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Rachna says:

    You must have very steady hands. My younger son enjoys sketching. Of course, nothing this good.

    Like

  5. Hummingwords says:

    this seems good! the expressions are quite similar 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. romelf says:

    You can use a graphic pad for drawing with computer. I use a genius Mousepen to draw things. it’s good…. you can also use ‘Gimp’ for painting. It’s free.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Gunjan says:

    Hi, great effort and a very hauntingly beautiful sketch. I do not think filling your own colors in a sketch qualifies as an ‘art plagiarism’, it rather adds a new level of comprehension to the original creation, as long as you credit the original source. And don’t we all know that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Alok Singhal says:

    Hahaha, you are good at this and there surely would be differences.

    I guess you can give a link to the original art-work and credit the same.

    Like

Leave a Reply

