Upheaval

প্রথম সমুদ্র দখা আর প্রথম প্রেম
কোথাও একটা মিল আছে যেন
সেই ঘন নীল ঢেউএর আমেজ
আবেশ ভরা সকাল, সন্ধ্যা, দুপুর
পারে বসে স্নানের মেলা দেখা
কিছু ছিটে এসেচ্ছিল বটে
কাপড ভেজালো মনো তার সাথে
কিন্তু হাত বাডিযে বুকে তুলে
নিতে পারিনি তাকে
দূর থেকে দেখেছি
আর অনুভব করেছি তার আলিঙ্গন
পায়ে বাঁধা ছিল যে বেড়ি
যেতে পারিনি …..
আফশোস থেকে গেল তাই
আবার ক্ববে হবে দেখা
কে জানে?
হয়তো কোনদিন ও নয়
শুধু স্মৃতি টুকু ভাসা ভাসা
চোখের কোণে আনবে
শিশির বিন্দু দিয়ে আঁকা
একখানি অসমাপ্তো ছবি
দীঘায প্রথম সমুদ্র দেখা
আর তোমাকে ও বোধহয়…..

The poem below is a mere shadow and not a transliteration of the verse above :

THE FINAL ADIEU

The deep blue spell of the waves
The enchanting morns
The euphoric eves
The desultory noons
Spent endlessly idling by the reckless shores
As the sea sprayed a few kisses
On the rugged rocks
Wetting the helm of my dreams
The soul shackled within bounds
Rankled a deep woe
As the heart bemoaned
An unfulfilled yearn
Sang the sea gulls a plaintive lore
Spreading their wings wide
Across the sky
As they soared high
Etched below on the sands
Were remembrances of love
Wrapped in a sigh
Sealed with dew drops
Countless portrays flutter
As I look back at a withered past
Drowned perhaps
Blotched a little by tear drops
Frayed at the fringe
Where with sharpened nails
I dug deep a hole or two

My maiden affair with the turquoise sea
And when I lost my heart to thee
There is an odd kind of similarity
Between the two!

About gc1963

A working woman with interests in reading, writing, music, poetry and fine arts.

15 responses »

  1. Beautiful imagery Geeta. Sad I can’t read the Bengali version. Was the Bengali version the first thing you wrote or was it the English one?
    My first trip on a ship kindled similar emotions although I was surrounded by school mates and the scenario was one of restlessness and fun.

    Like

    • Geetashree Chatterjee says:

      Thanks Shail. Yes I wrote the Bengali version first which is slightly different. Both the poems are shadows of each other. Thought of rewriting in English for my English speaking friends. Thanks a lot for being the first to comment. Wishing all the very best.

      Like

  2. Kumarendra Mallick says:

    Geeta, I shall love to read the Bengali version, too. Plz send by post:5-81, Street No.8, Vivekanad Nagar, Habsiguda, Hyderabad 500 007
    Your word play to ornament the images are exemplary, a poet’s envy, so to say! You are a lovable poet.

    Like

  3. Melancholy, pensive, and echoing the past beside the sea, probably knowing bangla would help I guess, for the English seems to have that translation thing in it…

    Like

  4. My pleasure as always while reading your creative write-ups!

    Like

  5. gc1963 says:

    Snehith, these are two shadow poems drawing from the same theme but not translations.

    Like

  6. Vimla Ramu says:

    It is simply beautiful. I am sure the Bengali version must be even more so as only a poet in both languages can do justice to both the versions.
    Keep it up, Geeta,

    Vimla

    Like

  7. gc1963 says:

    Thanks Vimla

    Like

  8. Lakshmi says:

    I wish I could read the original Bengali version too! All I can say is one word “Beautiful”!

    Geeta, keep writing………

    Lakshmi

    Like

    • Geetashree Chatterjee says:

      How do I repay you kindness? The way you keep on encouraging me is heartening and touching as always. Thanks for strolling by….

      Like

  9. Beautiful poem Geeta Ji. I can sense the feelings. I will show the original version to my Bengali friends here who can read the Bangla script and understand the meaning of that too.

    Jitendra

    Like

    • Geetashree Chatterjee says:

      Jitendraji,

      Thanks! I am sure you’ll find the Bengali version different from the English one as they are siblings and not twins. 🙂

      Like

  10. Nishant says:

    Hi Geeta!
    Firstly, thanx a million for visiting my page!
    & now I must say that you’ve written a wonderful poem! & I can understand Bengali a bit, thanx to many a tens of Bengali movies I’ve seen. But I’m telling you this after reading your English translation of the poem, one can’t really learn a language by watching movies:)
    Nice blog. I can suggest you some changes about its layout.
    Keep writing. Not many Indian bloggers are on WordPress and I am always happy to find someone new.

    Like

  11. gc1963 says:

    Thanks Nishant keep peeping in.

    You are right. Firstly, I am not happy with the Bengali fonts. Do tell me how to improve on the layout. I am not very site savvy and take my time to learn.

    Thanks for the appreciation.

    I hope we’ll be interacting regularly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

